And the BMA winners are…..

Winners of the 2013 Blues Music Awards! Congratulations to all winners and nominees! Thank you Blues Foundation for a great party!
Traditional Blues Album: Double Dynamite – The Mannish Boys
Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger
DVD: Eagle Rock Entertainment – Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones, Live at Checkerboard Lounge
Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw
Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas
Acoustic Artist: Eric Bibb
Traditional Blues Male Artist: Magic Slim
Acoustic Album: Not Alone – Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin
Contemporary Blues Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
Gibson Guitar: Derek Trucks
Rock Blues Album: Everybody’s Talkin’ – Tedeschi Trucks Band
Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band
Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Rick Estrin
Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside
Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Victor Wainwright
Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Tab Benoit
Historical: Bear Family Records for Plug It In! Turn It Up! Electric Blues by Various Artists
Soul Blues Album: Soul Shot – Curtis Salgado
Best New Artist Debut: They Call Me Big Llou – Big LLou Johnson
Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Janiva Magness
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster
Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
Song: “I Won’t Cry” written by Janiva Magness & Dave Darling – Stronger For It (Janiva Magness)
B.B King Entertainer: Curtis Salgado

25 Influential Arizona Musicians

25 Influential Arizona Musicians

Thanks to Phoenix Magazine, who in their May issue included me in their list of 25 most influential Arizona musicians along with Waylon Jennings, Alice Cooper, Glen Campbell, The Tubes, Duane Eddy, Linda Ronstadt and others! Wow! What an honor!

The Arizona Blues Hall of Fame mentioned it also. The online version of Phoenix Magazine does not show the complete list but here’s peek at it.