John Primer & Bob Corritore – Ain’t Nothing You Can Do

Blues PowR Blog
Blues X Blues(Spain)
Don And Sheryl’s Blues Blog
Elmore Magazine
In A Blue Mood
Keys And Chords (Netherlands)
Making A Scene
Midwest Review
Paris Move (France)
Professor Johnny P’s Juke Joint
Rootsville (Belgium)
Shinjuku Soul Distribution (Japan)
Soul Bag (France)
Sound Guardian (Croatia)

 


Soul Bag (France) (March 27, 2017)

Insensible aux effets de mode, John Primer continue à distiller son Chicago blues sur les scènes du monde entier plus de vingt-cinq ans après ses premiers enregistrements sous son nom. L’ancien accompagnateur de Muddy Waters et partenaire de Magic Slim a désormais noué une alliance productive avec l’harmoniciste-chanteur Bob Corritore, avec qui il avait déjà signé en 2013 l’album “Knockin’ Around These Blues”. Les deux complices se retrouvent aujourd’hui pour un nouveau disque partagé, “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!”, qui sortira chez Delta Groove le 21 avril et pour lequel ils sont bien entourés : Barrelhouse Chuck, Big Jon Atkinson, Troy Sandow, Chris James, Patrick Rynn et Brian Fahey, ainsi que le légendaire Henry Gray – dont la carrière remonte aux premières années du Chicago blues électrique !

Midwest Review (March 31, 2017)

Back together after their victorious debut album, these two blues cats sound like they turned on the recorder in the back room of the Aristocrat Lounge after the jelly jar had been passed around to all crammed back there. Authentic Chicago stuff that tourists will dig even though it was made for enthusiasts, these two award winners make it as Chicago as the Chicago handshake. Killer stuff that’ll flat out have you reaching for the dark glasses and turning on the blue lights. Hot stuff throughout.

 


Don And Sheryl’s Blues Blog (April 5, 2017)
As we mark the April 4 anniversary of the birth of Muddy Waters, we are proud to present our review from two of the most excellent purveyors of that classic Chicago blues sound on the scene today, John Primer and Bob Corritore, and “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do,” for Delta Groove Music. John Primer won the Blues Award in 2016 for Best Traditional Male Artist, and, for those who may not be aware, he was a guitarist in the last incarnation of Muddy’s band, just prior to Muddy’s passing in 1983. As for Bob Corritore, his name is synonymous with the best in harp-driven blues, winning the Blues Award in 2011 for Historical Album of the Year for “Harmonica Blues.” Their 2013 Delta Groove debut, “Knockin’ Around These Blues,” received tremendous praise from the blues community.

For the follow-up, “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do” features two of John’s originals and one cool instrumental penned by Bob. These giants are joined by some of the world’s best players, including Henry Gray and Barrelhouse Chuck on piano, Big Jon Atkinson and Chris James on guitars, Patrick Rynn and Troy Sandow on bass, and Brian Fahey on drums.

Fans, this is authentic Chicago blues the way it was intended to be played. One of John’s originals kicks off, “Poor Man Blues,” finding John just wanting to “lend a helping hand” to those in need. This song, as well as all the others, are arranged to give everyone ample room to solo. “Elevate Me Mama, ’bout five or six floors on down,” is a cool nod to Chess Records via this song’s writer, Sonny Boy Williamson, and the fellows pay tribute to ‘ol Magic Slim with John’s strong vocal on those “Gambling Blues.” Bob’s solo here is dead-on, never wasting a note.
We had two favorites, too. A hell-hound slide guitar drives the slow-blues bliss of the raucous, bawdy, “Big Leg Woman,” where “people are crying for more!” And, the title cut features Henry Gray on piano on a song we first heard by Albert King back in the day, where “There Ain’t Nothing You Can Do to stop me from loving you!”

John Primer and Bob Corritore are two of not only the finest gentlemen, but also two of the finest players of classic Chicago blues to ever strike a chord. There really “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do” except to enjoy the hell out of this great set! Until next time…
Sheryl and Don Crow, The Nashville Blues Society.


Paris Move (France) (April 7, 2017)

Vous aimez le Chicago Blues ? Vous imaginiez donc rester planqué jusqu’à la fin de vos jours dans un espace-temps figé entre 1949 et 1983, et peuplé des ombres des géants qui arpentaient alors les clubs de la windy-city. Ce sentiment ne vous tourmentait guère, puisque vous estimiez disposer de suffisamment de cartouches pour pouvoir tenir jusqu’à cette issue fatale. Croyez bien en toute ma sympathie, mais il va néanmoins falloir réviser votre jugement, car en dépit de vos certitudes, cette musique se conjugue toujours au présent. John Primer fit certes ses classes auprès de Muddy Waters et Magic Slim, mais le bougre demeure non seulement vivant, mais fichtrement prolixe. Quant à l’harmoniciste Bob Corritore (lui aussi natif de Chicago), il figure sur plus de 90 albums à ce jour (!!). Déclinons le reste du casting : Brian Fahey (drummer des Paladins), Henry Gray et le regretté Barrelhouse Chuck au piano, Chris James et Big Jon Atkinson aux six cordes additionnelles, et deux bassistes en alternance. Les slide licks caractéristiques de McKinley Morganfield zèbrent le “Big Leg Woman” de Johnny Temple ainsi que “When I Leave Home”, où le timbre vocal de John Primer accuse la patine que requiert ce genre de piste. Les admirateurs éplorés de Muddy ploient sous l’émotion, mais redressent bientôt l’échine sous l’inflexion des shuffles “Gambling Blues” de Magic Slim et “May I Have A Talk With You” de Howlin’ Wolf. “Harmonica Boogaloo” est l’instrumental au fil duquel Bob Corritore rend brillamment hommage à deux de ses mentors, Junior Wells et James Cotton. La plage titulaire s’inscrit à nouveau dans la facture de Muddy, avec le bénéfice d’un solo 100% barrelhouse du vétéran Henry Gray (92 ans aux fraises !), augmenté de celui de Big Jon Atkinson, manifestement déterminé à s’inscrire dans le sillage des Jimmy Rogers, Pat Hare et Luther Johnson qui le précédèrent en pareil territoire. Quatre ans après leur unanimement célébré “Knockin’ Around These Blues”, nos Chicago-killers favoris récidivent donc avec brio. Comme l’indique le titre à bon escient, on ne peut tout simplement pas y résister : succombez à la tentation !

– Patrick Dallongeville


Rootsville (Belgium) (April 2017)

Het lijkt wel of ze zijn bij ‘Delta Groove Music’ uit hun winterslaap gekomen want ineens komen er zo maar twee nieuwe releases op ons af. Het betreft hier telkens een samenwerking van een duo. Het eerste album dat we onder de loop nemen is dit van John Primer & Bob Corritore. Deze brainstorm komt er niet zomaar want in 2013 brachten de beide heren als een gelijkaardig album op de markt, met als titel ‘Knockin’ Around These Blues’.

Als blues harper is Bob Corritore al sinds lange tijd aan dit huis verbonden en net als stichter Randy Chortkoff (1950-2015) is ook Bob een gewaardeerd harper bij zijn collega’s. John Primer zien we wel vaker hier op onze podia en dit is pas enkele maanden geleden. Dit nieuwe album ‘Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!’ deed ook nog andere huisnamen op de cover verschijnen zoals Chris James, Patrick Rynn en Big Jon Atkinson. Als drummer verschijnt hier niemand minder dan Brian Fahey van The Paladins.

Chicago Blues on his best waarop de heren openen met ‘Poor Man Blues’ en John Primer als jonge zeventiger een heerlijke ‘shuffle’ uit zijn gitaar laat klinken. Met Bob Corritore aan zijn zijde lijken alle nummers wel vanzelfsprekend en kunnen we genieten van no-nonsens blues zoals die bovenaan het rijtje past. Van Sonny Boy Williamson’ krijgen we daarna ‘Elevate Me Mama’. Als derde op dit album krijgen we een up-tempo boogie van Snooky Pryor met ‘Hold Me In Your Arms’.

Bob Corritore zelf levert met ‘Harmonica Boogaloo’ een instrumentaaltje af waardoor de logica boven komt waarom hij bij Delta Groove zo gewaardeerd wordt. Het is niet altijd weer ‘Going Down’ dat we van Don Nix te horen moeten krijgen want met deze ‘For The Love Of A Woman’ brengen beide heren toch een meer dan aantrekkelijke Ol’ School Chicago Blues. ‘Howlin’ Wolf mocht dan weer ‘May I Have A Talk With You’ aanleveren waarop slide centraal staat, waarna John Primer en Bob Corritore eindigen met ‘When I Leave Home’ en kijken wij al uit naar een volgend album van deze twee boegbeelden.


Professor Johnny P’s Juke Joint (April 12, 2017)

Most of the time when I am fortunate enough to receive a new CD to listen to, there’s a little gap between when I hear it and when I write a review. I do write the reviews while listening to each song, it wouldn’t be fair to trust my Swiss Cheese Memory (SCM) to be able to remember all the salient details. Sometimes though, when it’s an artist (or artists) whose work I particularly admire, I want to jump on the CD immediately, consume it, and comment on it here on this blog.

Such is the case of a package I received from Delta Groove this afternoon. After opening it, I was stoked to discover it was from the duo of John Primer and Bob Corritore, two of my favorite performers of all time, teaming up again (the last time was 2013, I believe) on an album entitled Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!
Both Primer and Corritore have been featured prominently on Time For The Blues over the years. Primer was on one of our first shows and Corritore has been featured several times, as both the featured performer and a back up player for other musicians.

Primer and Corritore are artists who are at the top of their game. Primer’s guitar playing is among the best I’ve ever heard, and so is Corritore’s harp skills. Together, they make a powerful force.

On this album, they are joined by two outstanding piano players, Henry Gray (three songs) and Barrelhouse Chuck (seven songs); two solid guitar slingers, Big Jon Atkinson (three songs) and Chris James (seven songs); Troy Sandow (three songs) and Patrick Rynn (seven songs) on bass; and Brian Fahey on drums.

I haven’t been able to confirm that these are the last recordings to feature Barrelhouse Chuck, but as he passed away at the end of 2016, they are certainly among the last sessions he ever did, and the album is dedicated to his memory.

With a lineup like this, you know they are coming out swinging. “Poor Man Blues” has some serious bounce to it and Primer is in good voice. This is that Chicago sound that grabs you and doesn’t let go. It’s high energy, the lyrics have depth, and it’s a great way to kick off what has the potential to be a great album.

The Sonny Boy Williamson number, “Elevate Me Mama”, is next. This is a slow blistering tune that continues that great sound and adds a little intensity to the proceedings. The players on this album are versed in just about every style of blues there are, so you know they can handle this song with the greatest of ease. Corritore does an outstanding job on the harp. Got to love it.

Primer and Corritore and their cadre of blues greats then tackle Snooky Pryor’s “Hold Me In Your Arms”. There’s more old-school that sounds so fresh. Anyone who loves that Chicago sound will go crazy for this album. So far, each of the songs is a strong testament to the blues. Those who weren’t fans of the genre before, just might start to find something that speaks to them. Those of us who are already members of the Church Of The Blues will raise our hands high and exhort them to keep preaching!

For the next track, “Big Leg Woman”, we’re deep into that honkytonk style that just drives a crowd wild. Primer is in terrific voice, alternating his cadence with some shouting and even though the only audience present is whomever is listening to the album, he’s working the crowd like a master.

“Gambling Blues” has a nice swing beat. It’s a fun blues number that would easily move an audience to get up and shake whatever they’ve got. It’s a solid number and could see its share of airplay. The one song on the album written by Corritore is “Harmonica Boogaloo”. As you might guess, it’s harp heavy and a swinging instrumental. Corritore, who is well versed in the Chicago Sound, also brings some West Coast chops to the mix. His breath control is amazing and as a harp aficionado, this is one of my favorite songs on the album.

The title track, “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do”, is also the longest song on the album at just over seven minutes. It’s a slower smoking number that dials up the intensity level to eleven. Primer delivers some of the best vocals on the album, while Henry Gray’s piano and Big Jon Atkinson’s guitar adds so much to the music.

They follow up with “For The Love Of A Woman”, the story of just what a man would be willing to do for the love of a woman. It’s a bouncy song (thanks in no small part to Corritore’s harp) that explores that oft visited territory.

Howlin’ Wolf’s “May I Have A Talk With You”, is next and Primer’s guitar takes the spotlight. Primer’s vocals are dead on and the song is full of Elmore James style riffs before giving way to Corritore’s harp. It’s a solid treatment of a great song.

The album comes to a close with “When I Leave Home”. This one belongs to Primer as his vocals and guitar playing leave the deepest impression. The combination of Primer with Corritore and the other players on this fine album creates one of the best albums so far of 2017.

Without a doubt, this is an album that should satisfy just about every blues lover out there. These are master players working at the highest levels. They kept the sound stripped down and it sounds just like a Chicago nightclub would have sounded at the height of the blues.

I can’t praise Ain’t Nothing You Can Do highly enough. With the demands on the time of both Primer and Corritore, I can’t imagine they will be able to get together often to tour, but it might be possible to catch them sitting in with each other somewhere down the road.

If you want to find that magic, make sure to check both of their websites at https://www.johnprimerblues.com/ and https://bobcorritore.com/.

– Professor Johnny P.


Keys And Chords (Netherlands) (April 17, 2017)

Net zoals velen van zijn mentors verhuisde ook John Primer uit het Mississippi gebied destijds naar het verstedelijkte Chicago. Primer werd geboren in Camden, MS op 03 maart 1945.

Hij speelde in Chi Town in de befaamde bluesclub Theresa’s Lounge tussen 1974-’80 en werd er sterk beïnvloed door Muddy Waters en Sammy Lawhorn, die hem slidegitaar leerde pelen.

In 1979 vervoegde Primer, The Chicago Blues All-Stars, de band rond blueslegende Willie Dixon. Niet veel later speelde hij bij de legendarische Muddy Waters en bij The Teardrops de band van Magic Slim. Tot hij een lucratief platencontract ondertekende bij het label Wolf Records. Harpvirtuoos Bob Corritore werd geboren in Chicago op 27 september 1956. Al vrij snel werd Bob ondergedompeld in de blues sound van de Windy City. In tegenstelling tot John Primer verhuisde Bob zuidwaarts naar Phoenix, Arizona en opende er de inmiddels de beroemde blues en rootsclub The Rhythm Room.

Voor dit project ‘Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!’ krijgt het duo backing bij een all-stars cast van Henry Gray en Barrelhouse Chuck op piano, Big Jo Atkinson en Chris James (gitaar), Paladins drummer Brian Fahey en bassisten Troy Sandow en Patrick Rynn. Primer graaft diep in de ruwe en heavy sound die de West Side van Chicago jarenlang kenmerkte. Corritore’s harp is een echo van zijn mentors Little Walter, Junior Wells en James Cotton. Het album opent meteen met de schitterende Chicago Blues van ‘Poor Man Blues’. De blues trage ‘Elevate Me Mama’ kenmerkt de interactie tussen Corritore’s harpvaardigheden en Primers Chicago gitaarriffs. En dat is uiteraard niet anders in het geënthousiasmeerde ‘Hold Me In Your Arms’, origineel van James Pryor en de ballade ‘Big Leg Woman’. Het aanporrende ‘Gambling Blues’ is van de hand van Magic Slim. Corritore concipieert zijn absolute gading in het instrumentale ‘Harmonica Boogaloo’. De titeltrack is dan weer een fijn staaltje Chicago blues. Bij Don Nix haalde de cast nu eens ‘For The Love Of A Woman’. En van Howlin’ Wolf serverden ze ons nog het overweldigende ‘Have A Talk With You’. Als afsluiter komt Primers originele song ‘When I Leave Home’ ons meedogenloos wat verweest achter laten. Wat een album!

This traditional blues style, fueled the fire of the great Chicago heyday! ‘Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!’ is the real deal! Superb album!

– Philip Verhaege (5)


Blues PowR Blog (April 19, 2017)

Blues vets Primer, Corritore reunite for Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!

Despite the current political mood, this spring seems to be one of much collaboration in the blues music world, with new joint projects out or on the way from the likes of Taj Mahal and Keb’ Mo’, Charlie Musselwhite and Ben Harper, Guy Davis and Fabrizio Poggi, and Michael Ledbetter and Monster Mike Welch, to name a few. We’ll have more for you on some of those other projects in the weeks ahead, but thought we’d get things started with a reunion of two bluesmen we last heard Knockin’ Around These Blues together back in 2013, in guitarist John Primer (Muddy Waters Band) and harmonica ace Bob Corritore, who’s really banged out some terrific solo and duo albums in recent years, collaborating, for example, on releases with the likes of youngblood guitarist Big Jon Atkinson, veteran pianist Henry Gray, and longtime vocalist friend Tail Dragger.

So it may not come as a big surprise that Ain’t Nothing You Can Do! (Delta Groove Music) also features a few other guest appearances. That includes both Atkinson and Gray on songs such as the swinging Chicago sound of “Hold Me in Your Arms” (Snooky Pryor) and a pair of Albert King numbers (a shuffling, almost “Crossroads”-like “For the Love of a Woman” and the gritty, steady-grooving title track), while the late Barrelhouse Chuck rides the keys on the remainder of the tracks, all of which are simply delightful and together help make for one of the most entertaining and authentic modern Chicago blues sessions you’ll have the pleasure of hearing, from the slunking instrumental original “Harmonica Boogaloo” and “Dust My Broom”-ish slide guitar riffs of “May I Have a Talk with You” (Howlin’ Wolf) to the opening, energetic “Poor Man Blues” and slow deep blues of the closing “When I Leave Home” with its soulful, B.B. King-style guitar licks, plaintive harmonica, and some fine playing from Barrelhouse Chuck, both Primer originals.

Along the way, there are also terrific takes on songs such as Sonny Boy Williamson’s “Elevate Me Mama”, Magic Slim’s “Gambling Blues”, and “Big Leg Woman” (Johnny Temple, Muddy Waters) with its memorable lyrics of “you got somethin’ down there, make a bulldog hug a hound”.

Primer, Corritore, and their guests are each masters of their instruments, with both the song selection and Primer’s vocals — which increasingly resemble those of his mentor and former bandleader Muddy Waters — helping to lend further credence to the project’s strong Chicago sound. Everything here is just superb, serving as excellent proof that Chicago blues are still very much alive and well. Ain’t Nothing You Can Do but enjoy it!

– Mike


Shinjuku Soul Distribution (Japan) (April 19, 2017)

マディ・ウォーターズのバック、マジック・スリムのティア・ドロップスのサイド・ギタリストとしてもお馴染みのJOHN PRIMERと、プレイ、プロデュース両面でも定評のあるBOB CORRITOREの2013年以来となる共演盤がDELTA GROOVEよりリリース!


Elmore Magazine (April 20, 2017)

This is pure Chicago blues as you would expect from these two traditionalists. John Primer is the reigning Blues Music Award winner for Traditional Male Blues Artist and Corritore has racked up six BMA nominations and won an award as well. The two paired on 2013’s Knockin’ Around These Blues, so, in one sense, this is an encore. One of the most rewarding aspects of this album is the two piano players featured. The late Barrelhouse Chuck appears on seven tracks with Howlin’ Wolf’s pianist, 91 year old Henry Gray, on the remaining three cuts. Corritore’s usual rhythm section of drummer Brian Fahey and bassist Patrick Rynn anchor here as they did on the 2013 release where Barrelhouse Chuck was also the pianist. Appearing on three tracks is emerging guitarist Big Jon Atkinson, with whom Corritore collaborated on this year’s nominated BMA Traditional Blues Album, House Party at Big Jon’s.

Why argue with success? The pacing and song selections here are much like the previous album, interpreting Sonny Boy Williamson (“Elevate Me Mama”), Magic Slim (“Gambling Blues”), Howlin’ Wolf (“May I have a Talk With You”) and Snooky Pryor (“Hold Me in Your Arms”). Primer and Corritore each contribute only one original among the ten selections. Most run four to five minutes but the title track and the closer “When I Leave Home” are around seven minutes long, providing ample soloing spots for the principals and the pianist.

Guitarist/vocalist Primer has a voice that is remarkably similar to Muddy Waters and he has the pedigree too; having played with Muddy until his death in 1983, preceded by long stints with Willie Dixon and Magic Slim. Corritore grew up in Chicago but has resided in Phoenix for over two decades now. He is the proprietor of that city’s most famous blues club, The Rhythm Room. As such, he has the opportunity to jam and collaborate with many blues artists. You’ll find Bob’s name on multiple albums, because he is one of the top traditional harp players and maybe even more importantly, because he has no problem leaving his ego at the door. The two play together so comfortably and seamlessly, you’ll feel transported back to the heyday of that Chess Chicago blues sound. It’s pure, refreshing, heartfelt and moving.

Score: 86

— Jim Hynes


In A Blue Mood (April 21, 2017)

Delta Groove just issued a new recording by the Chicago veteran John Primer and harmonica player Bob Corritore, who is one of the co-producers of this as well. Bring some the likes of Henry Gray or the late Barrelhouse Chuck on piano, Big John Atkinson or Chris James on guitar, Troy Sandow or Patrick Rynn on bass and Brian Fahey on drums and one has a terrific band for the traditional Chicago Blues follow-up to the acclaimed 2013 “Knockin’ Around These Blues.”

The material is a mix of strong originals and choice covers with the music evoking the late Muddy Waters (Primer was guitarist in Waters final band) with a touch of Magic Slim, with whom Primer played with for many years with the driving, insistent groove. The instrumentation here also lends this the sound of a Muddy Waters recording (with Corritore’s harp lending the feel of the Waters Band when James Cotton was in it), although I believe Waters only recorded John Lee ‘Sonny Boy’ Williamson’s “Elevate Me Mama,” which has terrific piano from the late Barrelhouse Chuck.

Originals like the topical, opening “Poor Man Blues,” who is living the best way he can, and the closing slow, closing Muddy Waters-styled “When I Leave Home,” bookend terrific renditions of Johnny Temple’s “Big Legged Woman,” with Muddy Waters’ styled slide; Snooky Pryor’s Vee-Jay classic, “Hold Me In Your Arms,” has Henry Gray on piano; Magic Slim’s chugging “Gambling Blues”; and a Corritore feature, “Harmonica Boogaloo.” The Chuck Brooks-penned title track was originally recorded by Albert King. It is a slow blues where Primer authoritatively tells his woman know that no matter what she does, nothing will stop John from loving her or drive him away. With solos from Henry Gray, Corritore Jon Atkinson and Primer himself, Primer and band conjures up the Mississippi King Bee (Muddy Waters) himself here (and elsewhere).

A rendition of Don Nix’s “For a Love of a Woman” and Howlin’ Wolf’s “May I Have Talk With You,” where Primer plays some Elmore James’s style slide on a rollicking shuffle adaptation of Wolf’s song round out a terrific recording that is as a good an evocation of classic Chicago blues (particularly the great Muddy Waters band of the late fifties through early seventies) as has been heard in the past few years.

– Ron Weinstock


Sound Guardian (Croatia) (April 21, 2017)

Upravo danas, 21. travnja, poznata kalifornijska izdavačka kuća Delta Groove Music izbacila je na tržište dva nova izdanja. “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!” prvi je album koji ću tom prigodom predstaviti. Gitarist John Primer i harpist Bob Corritore udružili su svoje snage i snimili ovaj album, koji bi morao biti mali dio svake ozbiljnije blues kolekcije.

I ovaj put, naravno, promociju mogu zahvaliti radijskom promotoru Artu Martelu, koji je nastavio tamo gdje smo Steve Dixon i moja malenkost stali. I zato, dragi moji, pred nama je apsolutno “tvrdi” i nadasve briljantan album tradicionalnog i west-coast-bluesa izvanserijskog gitarista Johna Primera, te osebujnog, duboko tradicionalistički određenog svirača usne harmonike, naprosto briljantnog Boba Corritorea. Uzajamno uvažavanje i poštovanje duboko je odredilo ovaj odnos. Razlog je čisto ljudski, pristojnost i poštovanje, koje je apsolutno zdrava podloga za svaku suradnju, jer ako toga nema, ako to nije prisutno, onda zapravo sve pada u vodu i nema nikakvog smisla.

A Johnu Primeru (vokal, gitara) i Bobu Corritoreu (usna harmonika) pridružila se ovakva ekipa: apsolutno nevjerojatni Henry Gray (klavir), Barrelhouse Chuck (klavir), Big Jon Atkinson (gitara), Chris James (gitara), Troy Sandow (bas), Patrick Rynn (bas) i Brian Fahey (bubnjevi) – garancija ne dobrog već izvrsnog blues-tuluma. Pred nama je album od kojeg će nam krv brže kolati, od kojeg će nam nutrinu bića grijati neka posebna toplina a kostima strujiti ona poznata hladnoća, koja zapravo izaziva sveopću ugodu. Blues znalci jako dobro znaju o čemu pišem jer to nam se često događa. Ovakve reakcije ne može izazvati nešto što nije dobro, što nema ‘ono nešto’. Duboko u sebi nosim te neke znakovite vibracije, osjećaj da bi tako trebao zvučati pravi blues album. Ne znam već koliko godina pratim rad kako Primera, tako i Boba, i zapravo bilo je pitanje koliko će to sve imati odjeka. Na svu sreću, već njihov prvi album, “Knockin’ Around These Blues” (2013.) pokazao je da ovaj glazbeni žanr ima puno potencijala koje valja što prije iskoristiti i proslijediti prema publici. Kao i mnogi prije njega, Bob je dosta dugo čekao na svoju afirmaciju, a sada nakon što već gotovo puno desetljeće važi za itekako uvažavanog glazbenika, ta afirmacija samo je došla kao potvrda kvalitete i nadahnuća ovog odličnog glazbenika.

John Primer, gitarist u bendovima Juniora Wellsa, Muddyja Watersa, Willieja Dixona, Magic Slima i Jamesa Cottona, do svog samostalnog rada i djelovanja već je samo po sebi dovoljno označio sve što treba. John je siva eminencija chicago-blues scene. Njemu nasuprot stoji ‘mladi’ Bob Corritore, harpist koji je najprije samo slušao, a onda je krenuo u taj beskrajni plavičasti svijet u kojem danas ima itekako značajnu ulogu.

Bob nije samo svirač usnjaka, Bob ima svoj klub, on je radio DJ i glazbeni producent. No, ako i sve stavimo na stranu, ostaje njegova svirka usnjaka. Taj njegov prezentacijski stil u sebi snažno objedinjuje jedinstvene glazbene bravure Little Waltera, Juniora Wellsa i Jamesa Cottona. Naravno, velika stvar je upravo taj njegov vlastiti i originalni stil sviranja usnjaka. Svakako da je baš time Corritore stekao globanu afirmaciju. To je doista veliki uspjeh, kojeg treba respektirati i odati mu veliko priznanje.

S druge pak strane, ovakav sraz generacija nevjerojatno oslikava svu veličinu, snagu i raskoš prezentacijske forme samih glazbenika, ali i ovog zaista, jedinstvenog albuma. “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!” svojim sadržajem donosi nam istinski tsunami tradicionalnog bluesa, koji najprije samo nadire i to čini polako i postupno, a onda, kada postane visok preko 30 metara, samo vas poklapa i priča je završena! Ovih deset pjesama pomest će vas svojom ekspresijom. Album se sluša u cijelosti i tih 52 minute proći će u tren. A onda “ponovi” sve od početka i tako se krug stalno otvara i zatvara. Želim biti dio tog kruga. Želim da me “poklopi” taj veliki plavičasti val koji će me zauvijek odvesti u tu “blue land” iz koje se jednostavno ne želim vratiti.

PREPORUKA:
Svakodnevno se u mojim rukama nalazi dosta albuma, ali samo neki uvijek zasjednu na ono posebno mjesto u mom biću. E upravo tu se smjestio “Ain’t Nothing You Can Do!” izuzetnih glazbenika Johna Primera i Boba Corritorea.

– Mladen Loncar


Blues X Blues (Spain) (April 21, 2017)

Un disco que se convierte en lo mejor de la semana, el mes o del año desde el momento que pinchas su tema inicial “Poor Man Blues”, la compenetración de ambos músicos es total, crean ese muro de sonido crudo y potente que siempre han distinguido a las bandas de blues de Chicago más clásicos. Y es que ellos son más clásicos que incluso cualquier clásico, espera a escuchar el tema “Elevate Mama” que hace que el mismo Muddy Waters se retuerza de placer en su tumba, por cierto, tema de Sonny boy Williamson. Al nivel de esa obra maestra grabada en el 2013, “Knockin around these blues”. Pocas uniones se me ocurren en el blues actual que den ese nivel, bueno sí, la de Lurrie Bell y Matthew Skoller estaría muy cerca. El caso es que las colaboraciones de Bob Corritore dan auténticas maravillas, escúchese los discos grabados con Henry Gray, John Atkinson, Tail Dragger o Dave Raley. Versiones inconmensurables de temas de Magic Slim como “Gamblin Blues”, “May I Have Talk With You” de Howlin Wolf o ese trallazo que es “Hold me in your arms” de Snooky Pryor. Por la banda acompañante pasan a devolver favores los nombrados anteriormente Henry Gray y Atkinson, también otras leyendas como el pianista Barrelhouse Chuck, o ese dúo estelar que son Chris James (guitarra) y Patrick Rynn (bajo). Una gozada, se me nota, no quepo en mí de gozo.


Making A Scene (April 23, 2017)

Alfonso “John” Primer was born in Camden, Mississippi but moved to Chicago where he was a regular at Theresa’s Lounge located at 48th and South Indiana Avenue. He played in Willie Dixon’s Chicago Blues All-Stars and in The Muddy Waters Band. Later Primer joined Magic Slim and The Teardrops. Primer was nominated three times for Traditional Blues Male Artist of The Year winning that Blues Music Award in 2016. Primer was also the lead vocalist and featured artist on the 2016 Grammy nominated “Muddy Waters 100” project. This is Primer’s seventeenth album.

Bob Corritore was born in Chicago and got hooked on blues harmonica when he was twelve years old. He studied and received playing tips from Carey Bell, Big Walter Horton, Junior Wells and others. At the age of twenty-five Corritore moved to Phoenix, Arizona. Ten years later he opened his own club there called The Rhythm Room. With his house band, The Rhythm Room All-Stars, he backed musicians when they came to town. Corritore has been nominated for five Blues Music Awards including one for 2017. He won a BMA in 2011 for Historical Album of The Year. This is Corritore’s twelfth album although he appears on over seventy others.
Primer and Corritore first collaborated in 2013 when they released “Knockin Around These Blues” also on Delta Groove.

The band includes Primer, guitar and vocals; Corritore, harmonica; the late Barrelhouse Chuck or Henry Gray, piano; Chris James or Big Jon Atkinson, guitar; Patrick Rynn or Troy Sandow, bass; and Brian Fahey, drums. The album is co-produced by Corritore and Clarke Rigsby and dedicated to the memory of Barrelhouse Chuck.

“Poor Man Blues” written by Primer was the title track to his 1991 album. Corritore’s harmonica is fabulous. Primer is also joined by Chuck, piano; James, guitar and Rynn, bass.

“Elevate Me Mama” from Sonny Boy Williamson was also recorded by Waters; Primer’s vocal is outstanding. “Hold Me In Your Arms” written by Snooky Pryor was also recorded by James Cotton; Gray is on piano while Atkinson is on guitar.

“Big Leg Woman” written by Johnny Temple was recorded by Waters on his 1964 “Folk Singer” album. “Gambling Blues” is from Morris Holt a.k.a. Magic Slim. The harp instrumental “Harmonica Boogaloo” is by Corritore. On these Chuck is featured on piano.

The title track “Ain’t Nothin You Can Do!” is from Malaco recording artist Chuck Brooks; this is another great vocal from Primer with Gray again on piano. “For The Love of A Woman” was written by Don Nix and once again Atkinson is featured on guitar.

“May I Have A Talk With You” written by Howlin’ Wolf, and the Primer original “When I Leave Home”, reprised from his 2012 album “Blues on Solid Ground”, are two more outstanding vocals from Primer.

Primer and Corritore are both historians. You can listen to them for hours. Primer and Corritore are perfect together.

– Richard Ludmerer